God Answers Fervent Prayer

Sing praises to the LORD, who dwells in Zion!  Declare His deeds among the people.  When He avenges blood, He remembers them;  He does not forget the cry of the humble. Psalm 9:11-12

Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. Elijah was a man with a nature like ours, and he prayed earnestly that it would not rain; and it did not rain on the land for three years and six months.  And he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain, and the earth produced its fruit. James 5:16-19

There is nothing more powerful in the universe than a fervent prayer based on a promise of God of a humble righteous man. It goes straight to heaven to the throne of God and produces great results. It brings changes both in the heavens and on earth that Kings and dictators can never do. We see this in the life of Daniel that when he prayed God would send an angel to bring his answers. The bible records for our profit and instruction:

Then the king arose very early in the morning and went in haste to the den of lions.  And when he came to the den, he cried out with a lamenting voice to Daniel. The king spoke, saying to Daniel, “Daniel, servant of the living God, has your God, whom you serve continually, been able to deliver you from the lions?”  Then Daniel said to the king, “O king, live forever!  “My God sent His angel and shut the lions’ mouths, so that they have not hurt me, because I was found innocent before Him; and also, O king, I have done no wrong before you.” Then the king was exceedingly glad for him, and commanded that they should take Daniel up out of the den. So Daniel was taken up out of the den, and no injury whatever was found on him, because he believed in his God.   And the king gave the command, and they brought those men who had accused Daniel, and they cast them into the den of lions-them, their children, and their wives; and the lions overpowered them, and broke all their bones in pieces before they ever came to the bottom of the den. Daniel 6:19-24

It was Daniel prayers that enabled his enemies to falsely accused him and get him put into a den of lions. But it was Daniel prayers that kept him safe there and cause his enemies to be cast them into the den of lions-them, their children, and their wives; and the lions overpowered them, and broke all their bones in pieces before they ever came to the bottom of the den. Vengeance is mine says the Lord and He warned men not to touch His anointed ones or to harm His prophets.  Yes, Daniel was a man of prayer and he would fight principalities and powers who didn’t want his prayers answered and God would send an angel to tell him that God heard his prayer:

In the third year of Cyrus king of Persia a message was revealed to Daniel, whose name was called Belteshazzar. The message was true, but the appointed time was long; and he understood the message, and had understanding of the vision.  In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.  Now on the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was by the side of the great river, that is, the Tigris, I lifted my eyes and looked, and behold, a certain man clothed in linen, whose waist was girded with gold of Uphaz! His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like torches of fire, his arms and feet like burnished bronze in color, and the sound of his words like the voice of a multitude.  And I, Daniel, alone saw the vision, for the men who were with me did not see the vision; but a great terror fell upon them, so that they fled to hide themselves. Therefore I was left alone when I saw this great vision, and no strength remained in me; for my vigor was turned to frailty in me, and I retained no strength. Yet I heard the sound of his words; and while I heard the sound of his words I was in a deep sleep on my face, with my face to the ground.   Suddenly, a hand touched me, which made me tremble on my knees and on the palms of my hands.  And he said to me, “O Daniel, man greatly beloved, understand the words that I speak to you, and stand upright, for I have now been sent to you.” While he was speaking this word to me, I stood trembling. Then he said to me, “Do not fear, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand, and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard; and I have come because of your words.  “But the prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me twenty-one days; and behold, Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, for I had been left alone there with the kings of Persia.  “Now I have come to make you understand what will happen to your people in the latter days, for the vision refers to many days yet to come.” Daniel 10:1-14

Yes, those who are true men of God and true men of prayer know the powers of darkness that will come against them! But they don’t look to their circumstances, needs, lacks, bodies or things as they appear but unto God who has promised to give every victory and answer every prayer! They look to God who has already given them His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ and His wonderful counselor, the Holy Spirit, and will freely with Christ give them all things (Romans 8:32)! Yet God’s word is unchanging:

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. Ephesians 6:11

Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:1-2

While God’s eyes are upon us and so are Satan’s who walks about like a roaring lion seeking those whom he may devour. We are not ignorant of his devices including attacking people in their dreams or in person. But one thing about the devil that is to be noted is that he is on a time clock. Time is on our side. Time is his enemy. Satan can not afford to keep up the attack. Often times, we will actually be set free or receive our break-through and yet not see it in the flesh nor the reality of it. This is especially true with demonization. The enemy will continue on with a very convincing charade of similar activity but the power of it has gone out. The devil or demon is trying desperately for us to give up and return to our previous condition. This is where the faith of the person under attack must be brought up to speed. We are not to listen to the unclean lying spirits. We have been set free. We are to “submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you “ (James 4:7). God’s word is unchanging:

And when He had called His twelve disciples to Him, He gave them power over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sickness and all kinds of disease. Matthew 10:1

Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God. 2 Corinthians 7:1

Job, a man who was blameless and upright, and one who feared God and shunned evil, suffered through no fault or wrong doing of his own.  He walked blameless before God in purity of heart and in  holiness of deed.  Yet the devil attacked him, causing him to lose his  children and livestock and riches in a moment of time.  His own  health failed him as painful sickness came upon his physical body.  But God  did not abandon him in his despair. In  the end, He restored to Job a family of beautiful children and twice  as many of the material possessions as he previously had because God is a God of restoration. His word is true:

Indeed we count them blessed who endure. You have heard of the perseverance of Job and seen the end intended by the Lord-that the Lord is very compassionate and merciful. James 5:11

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the LORD, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the LORD, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive. Jeremiah 29:11-14

Leave a comment